Volleyball: #22 Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) hosts 39th Annual ONU Invitational

Volleyball: #22 Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) hosts 39th Annual ONU Invitational

Friday-Saturday, Sept. 1-2, 2017 - ONU Sports Center, Ada, Ohio

ONU Volleyball Tournament PageTournament Program (.pdf) |

Preview: No. 22-ranked Ohio Northern will kick off its 2017 season Friday afternoon as it plays host to the 39th Annual ONU Invitational ... The tournament, which features six teams, will see five matches played on Friday afternoon and six contests on Saturday ... Northern will play the first match of the tournament at 2 pm on Friday as they take on Case Western Reserve ... Senior All-American middle hitter Haley Potters will look to lead Northern this season after posting a solid junior campaign ... The senior returns to the team in 2017 after being named First Team All-OAC, First Team All-Great Lakes Region and AVCA Honorable Mention All-America ... Potters led the team with 279 kills and 102 blocks ... 2016 OAC Freshman of the Year McKenna Jordan also makes her return to Northern in 2017 ... The sophomore was named Honorable Mention All-OAC as an outside hitter in 2016 and ranked third on the team 234 kills and was also third on the team with 325 digs ... Sophomore Chelsea Huppert also returns to the squad after being named Honorable Mention All-OAC in 2016 ... Huppert ranked second on the team with 250 kills and 85 blocks ... The defensive unit will be led by All-American libero and senior Megan Nieszala ... Nieszala led the team with 493 digs a season ago and was a Second Team All-OAC honoree in 2016 ... After taking on Case Western Reserve on Friday, Northern will take on Ohio Wesleyan at 6:30 pm to close out the first day of the tournament ... Northern will open the second day of the tournament with a 10:30 am match against Carnegie Mellon (Pa.) before taking on Thomas More (Ky.) at 12:30.

ONU Returners Statistical Leaders (2016)

  Kills       Blocks       Aces       Digs       Assists  
1. Potters 279   1. Potters 102   1. Potters 38   1. Nieszala 493   1. Nieszala 108
2. Huppert 250   2. Huppert 85   2.  Hostetler 28   2. Hostetler 403   2. Hostetler 87
3. Jordan 234   3. Jordan 15   3. Sharlow 24   3. Jordan 325   3. Broering 62

All-Time Series: Northern has won the tournament 17 times, including four of the last five tournaments ... The Polar Bears have won nine of the previous 13 tournaments.

Head Coach Kate Witte: Witte is in her 27th season as head coach with a 664-221 record, a winning percentage of .750.