Otterbein wins 2019 OAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Otterbein wins 2019 OAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

By Scott Beaton

ADA — The Otterbein women's track and field team earned its second consecutive Ohio Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field Championship on Saturday held inside the ONU Sports Center Fieldhouse.

The Cardinals scored 164.5 points; Mount Union was second with 149.5 points; and John Carroll was a close third with 143 points.

Cardinal senior Claire Lamb, who was named Most Outstanding Distance Runner, won the 3,000-meter run in 10:24.16 while finishing second in the mile in 5:01.35.

The 1,000 was won by OU senior Heather Sandvik in 2:57.95, and the 800 was won by fellow Otterbein senior Katy Foltz in 2:15.53.

OC junior Hailey Acosta won the 400 in :58.78 and Otterbein also took home the 4x200 relay in 1:45.07.

Additionally, Otterbein was awarded Most Outstanding Coaching Staff.

Other special awards were Most Outstanding Field Athlete, won by Baldwin Wallace's Brooke Buckhannon, and Most Outstanding Sprinter/Hurdler, split by John Carroll's Ashura Powell and Baldwin Wallace's Grace Nemeth.

Second-day event winners also include Ohio Northern's Tia Harris in shot put (13.51 meters), Marietta's Laura Pullins in high jump (1.65 meters), John Carroll's Courtney Phoennik in the triple jump (11.09 meters), Mount Union's Hilary Reigle in the mile (4:58.60), Baldwin Wallace's Amando Milo in the 60 hurdles (9.05 seconds), Mount Union's Sarah Mason in the 500 (1:17.54), John Carroll's Sarah Johnson in the 60 (7.88 seconds), Baldwin Wallace's Grace Nemeth (:25.69), and John Carroll's 4x400 relay team (4:03.02).

Final Team Standings

1. Otterbein 164.5, 2. Mount Union 149.5, 3. John Carroll 143, 4. Baldwin Wallace 113, 5. Ohio Northern 86, 6. Capital 26, 7. Marietta 25, 8. Heidelberg 17, 9. Muskingum 10, 10. Wilmington 6