Women's Swimming & Diving lands four on Academic All-Conference list

Women's Swimming & Diving lands four on Academic All-Conference list

By Scott Beaton

| 2018-19 Winter Academic All-OAC (.pdf) |

ADA — Senior Kierra Watson (Brownsburg, Ind.), junior Katelyn Koebel (Port Clinton) and sophomores Avery Manbeck (Aldie, Va./Champe) and Sydney Johnson (Crown Point, Ind.) were named Academic All-Ohio Athletic Conference in women's swimming and diving for 2018-19.

The award winners must be a sophomore or higher in class standing, maintain varsity status and have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.50.

Watson is studying biology and has been named Academic All-OAC three times.

She won OAC Championships titles in the 100 and 200 back and earned All-OAC honors in six events in 2019.

Watson's 90.5 points at the OAC Championships led the team and were the most for an ONU individual since 2016.

For her career, Watson contributed 299 points to the Polar Bear OAC Championships efforts and is a 16-time All-OAC honoree in the 100 back, 200 back, 200 I.M., 200 medley relay, 200 free relay, and 400 free relay.

Koebel is majoring in pharmacy and received Academic All-Conference honors for the first time.

She finished seventh at the 2019 OAC Championships in both the 100 and 200 breast, en route to scoring 26 total points.

Koebel has provided 56 points for ONU in the OAC Championships over three meet appearances.

Manbeck is a second-year athletic training student and earned the accolade in her first year of award-eligibility.

Competing in the 100 and 200 back, she scored nine points at the 2019 OAC Championships.

Manbeck, a 2018 All-OAC honoree in the 500 free, now has 38.5 career OAC Championships points.

Johnson is majoring in nursing and garnered Academic All-Conference honors in her first year eligible.

She placed at the 2019 OAC Championships in both the 50 and 100 free and has five career OAC Championships points.

Ohio Northern was 4-4 overall and finished second in the OAC with a 3-1 conference record. The Polar Bears placed third at the OAC Championships under first-year head coach Austin Veltman.