Wrestling: Ohio Northern (3-2 Overall) at Olivet (Mich.) Duals

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (3-2 Overall) at Olivet (Mich.) Duals

Tuesday, November 19, 2019, 7 p.m. - ONU Sports Center, Ada, Ohio

Tournament site |

Saturday's Duals: Ohio will go back on the road for four matches at the Olivet (Mich.) Duals on Saturday at the Cutler Event Center ... The Polar Bears will face Henry Ford (Mich.) CC at 11 am, St. Clair CC at 12:30 pm, Olivet (Mich.) at 2 pm and #12 Alma (Mich.) at 3:30 pm ... Ohio Northern is coming off a 28-6 loss to #9 Baldwin Wallace on Tuesday ... Senior Seth Transue had an 8-4 decision at 133 and sophomore Connor Kwiat posted an 11-4 decision at 174 to lead ONU ... Thus far this season, junior Cash Thompson (7-1), junior Schuyler Caprella (7-1), freshman Chase Sumner (7-2) and senior Jeff Andrews (7-3) all share the team lead with seven wins each ... Sumner leads the team with three pins ... Andrews, Caprella and Sumner have 2 tech falls each and Caprella and Thompson lead the team with two major decisions each ... Andrews leads all active ONU wrestlers with a 69-42 career record, which ranks him 42nd all-time in ONU history ... Transue is 44th all-time at ONU with a 67-40 mark and Thompson is 55th all-time with a 62-30 career record.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Thompson 7-1   1. Sumner 3   1. Andrews 2   1. Caprella 2
  Caprella 7-1   2. Medlen 2     Caprella 2     Thompson 2
  Transue 7-1     Thompson 2     Sumner 2   3. Lenhoff 1
  Sumner 7-2                     Transue 1
  Andrews 7-3                     Kwiat 1

Head Coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler is in his 32nd season at the helm of the Ohio Northern wrestling program and currently stands as the longest-tenured head wrestling coach at the institution ... He sports a 327-235-4 career coaching record in dual action, a winning percentage of .581, making him the all-time winningest coach in program history ... Beaschler was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 and has been named OAC Coach of the Year three times in 1993, 2012, and 2013.