Wrestling: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Adrian (Mich.) Duals

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Adrian (Mich.) Duals

Saturday, November 16, 2019, 10 a.m. - Merillat Center, Adrian, Mich.

Tournament Site |

Saturday's Tournament: The Ohio Northern wrestling program continues its 2019-20 campaign on Saturday at the Adrian (Mich.) Duals ... The tournament is slated to begin at 10 a.m. in Merillat Sport and Fitness Center Complex ... #14 Alma (Mich.), Adrian (Mich.), Central (Iowa), Penn State-Behrend, Wisconsin-Stevens Point, Milwaukee (Wis.) School of Engineering,  and Fontbonne (Mo.) will all join ONU ... The Polar Bears will face MSOE at 10 am, Fontbonne at 11:30 am, Central at 1 pm and Penn State-Behrend at 2:30 pm ... Ohio Northern is coming off a solid season-opening performance at the Mount Union Invitational last Saturday ... Seven Polar Bears placed in the top 6 of their respective weight classes ... Junior Cash Thompson won the 197-pound weight class title to lead Ohio Northern ... Senior Seth Transue was second at 133 pounds with a 2-1 record ... Junior Schuyler Caprella was third at 157 with a 3-1 mark ... Senior Jeff Andrews was fifth at 141, going 4-1 on the day ... Senior Brandon Bartlome, sophomore Jordan Hardrick and freshman Chase Sumner  finished sixth in the 141, 165 and 149 weight classes, respecitvely.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Andrews 4-1   1. Andrews 1   1. Transue 1   1. Caprella 2
2.  Thompson 3-0     Spears 1     Andrews 1     Thompson 2
  Caprella 3-1     Bartlome 1     Caprella 1   3. Lenhoff 1
  Sumner 3-1             Sumner 1        
  Bartlome 3-2                        

Head Coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler is in his 32nd season at the helm of the Ohio Northern wrestling program and currently stands as the longest-tenured head wrestling coach at the institution ... He sports a 324-233-4 career coaching record in dual action, a winning percentage of .581, making him the all-time winningest coach in program history ... Beaschler was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 and has been named OAC Coach of the Year three times in 1993, 2012, and 2013.