Wrestling: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Mount Union Invitational

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Mount Union Invitational

Saturday, November 11, 2017 - 10am - Peterson Fieldhouse, Alliance, Ohio

| Tournament Site |

Saturday's Tournament: The Polar Bears will open their 2017-18 season on Saturday at the Mount Union Invitational ... Nine NCAA Division II and III schools are scheduled compete in the double-elimination individual weight class tournament ... Ohio Northern returns 12 lettermen and eight starters from last year's squad that posted an 11-4 dual meet record, went 4-2 in the Ohio Athletic Conference and was 11th of 16 teams at the NCAA III Midwest Regionals ... ONU has posted ten consecutive winning seasons and has finished with more wins than losses in 45 of the program's 52-year history ... With high levels of talent and experience returning on the roster, combined with a solid incoming freshmen class, it is easy to see why optimism abounds in the ONU wrestling camp ... "We are excited about the upcoming season," Beaschler said. "One of our team objectives each season is to win the OAC title and we feel that we have the talent to compete for that. This season we are looking for great leadership from our experienced upperclassmen to help groom and develop an excellent freshmen class as we strive to take the program to the next level." For a complete season preview click | here |.

ONU Returning Statistical Leaders (2016-17 Stats):

      Tech Falls
      Maj. Dec.
1. Barcaskey 29-7   1. Barcaskey  20   1. Davidson 9   1. Nelson 5
2. Davidson 28-12   2. Hickey 8   2. Thompson 5   2. Andrews 5
3. Nelson 23-12   3. Bair 7   3. Transue 2     Thompson 5

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 309-215-4 record, a winning percentage of .590 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.