Kyle Kwiat leads No. 18 Wrestling at Alma (Mich.) Open

Kyle Kwiat leads No. 18 Wrestling at Alma (Mich.) Open

By: Andrew Korba

ALMA (Mich.) -- Senior Kyle Kwiat won the 174 pound weight class to lead the No. 18 Ohio Northern wrestling team at the Alma (Mich.) Open.

The event was unscored.

Kwiat, who is ranked No. 1 at 174 pounds, recorded a pin in his first match, followed by a 21-6 tech fall in the semifinals.

He then recorded a 16-0 tech fall over Benjamin Talston of Michigan in the finals.

In the 197 pound class, junior Michael Pawlitz recorded a pin and an 11-2 major decision, before falling by a 6-4 decision in the finals to Andrew Lovins of Heidelberg.

Junior Jerry Pasquale earned a thrid place finish in 125 pounds, recording two pins in the process.

Sophomore Cody Lovejoy recorded four pins on his way to a third place finish at 285 pounrds.

Ohio Northern will return to action when they host Mount Union in a key OAC dual on Tuesday at 7:30 pm.

Ohio Northern Individual Results


Jerry Pasquale (ONU) won by forfeit over Casimer Strzynki (Alma)  

Delian Schneider (Heidelberg) dec. Jerry Pasquale (ONU), 7-5

Jerry Pasquale (ONU) pinned Tyler Gibson (Muskegon CC), :43

Jerry Pasquale (ONU) pinned Novric Reese (Indiana Tech), 4:36

Jerry Pasquale finishes 3rd                                                            


Jeremy Jones (ONU) dec. Steve Harmon (Heidelberg), 6-0

Jeremy Jones (ONU) maj. dec. Robert Montney (Grand Valley State), 12-1

Zebulon Hilyard (Michigan) dec. Jeremy Jones (ONU), 3-1

Chad Deno (Central Michigan) dec. Jeremy Jones (ONU), 8-5


Cody Harting (ONU) dec. Mark Carosella (Heidelberg), 3-0

Chris Osborne (Heidelberg) maj. dec. Cody Harting, 15-2

Logan Shanks (Central Michigan) dec. Cody Harting (ONU), 4-0

Chris Osborne (Heidelberg) tech fall Shaun Lee (ONU), 16-0

Logan Shanks (Central Michigan) dec. Shaun Lee, 9-2         


J.P. Hoopes (ONU) dec. Jarrett Sadler (Alma), 8-1

J.P. Hoopes (ONU) dec. Eldin Hesselgrave (Indiana Tech), 8-4

Joey Kielbasa (Central Michigan) pinned J.P. Hoopes (ONU), 2:28

J.P. Hoopes (ONU) dec. Ian Gillespie (Heidelberg), 5-3

J.P. Hoopes (ONU) maj. dec. Jarrett Sadler (Alma), 14-4

J.P. Hoopes (ONU) dec. Kyle Brezovec (ONU), 8-5

Joey Keilbasa (Central Michigan) maj. dec. J.P. Hoopes (ONU), 11-2

J.P. Hoopes finishes 4th

Kyle Brezovec (ONU) dec. Ian Gillespie (Heidelberg), 4-2

Kyle Brezovec (ONU) dec. Travis Luft (Heidelberg), 4-2

Stephen Dutton III (Michigan) pinned Kyle Brezovec (ONU), 1:19

J.P. Hoopes (ONU) dec. Kyle Brezovec (ONU), 8-5                                                               

James Carey (Alma) dec. Pat Piszker (ONU), 6-2

Ian Gillespie (Heidelberg) maj. dec. Pat Piszker (ONU), 14-1           


Brandon Smith (Muskegon CC) pinned Cory Neel (ONU), 1:15

Aaron Banko (Heidelberg) pinned Cory Neel (ONU), 1:38  

Max Brooke (ONU) dec. Garrett Edwards (Muskegon CC), 7-6

Max Brooke (ONU) dec. Jamie Jakes (Alma), 7-5

Dakota Cooley (Central Michigan) dec. Max Brooke (ONU), 4-1

Shawn Brewer (Alma) dec. Max Brooke (ONU), 5-4 


Zack Cline (Central Michigan) maj. dec. Colt Lovejoy (ONU), 10-1

Colt Lovejoy (ONU) dec. Grayson Smith (Indiana Tech), 7-5

Jeremy Stepp (Heidelberg) dec. Colt Lovejoy (ONU), 6-1   

James Bennett (Indiana Tech) dec. Brandon Hawes (ONU), 10-8

Jeremy Stepp (Heidelberg) dec. Brandon Hawes (ONU), 7-3   


#1 Kyle Kwiat (ONU) pinned Riley Boomer (Muskegon CC), 4:14

#1 Kyle Kwiat (ONU) tech fall Tanner Martin (Indiana Tech), 21-6

#1 Kyle Kwiat (ONU) tech fall Benjamin Raiston (Michigan), 16-0

Kyle Kwiat finishes 1st


Austin Severn (Central Michigan) dec. Kyle Raber (ONU), 6-4

Alex Morang (Grand Valley State) dec. Kyle Raber (ONU), 7-6


Michael Pawlitz (ONU) pinned Mason Ley (Alma), :34

Michael Pawlitz maj. dec. Thomas Bolday (Muskegon CC), 11-2

Andrew Lovins (Heidelberg) dec. Michael Pawlitz (ONU), 6-4

Michael Pawlitz finishes 2nd

Andrew Lovins (Heidelberg) tech. fall Kody Bellamy (ONU), 16-0

Kody Bellamy (ONU) maj. dec. Jonathan Gibson (Heidelberg), 16-5

Kody Bellamy (ONU) dec. Sean Slee (Heidelberg), 7-3

Kyle Bellamy (ONU) maj. dec. Thomas Bolday (Muskegon CC), 16-7

Trevor Maresh (Alma) maj. dec. Kyle Bellamy (ONU), 13-1

Kyle Bellamy finishes 4th  


Cody Lovejoy (ONU) pinned Andrew Ackerman (Muskegon CC), 1:09

Cody Lovejoy (ONU) pinned Nino Majoy (Heidelberg), 5:36

Mike Muray (Central Michigan) dec. Cody Lovejoy (ONU), 3-1

Cody Lovejoy (ONU) pinned Jeremy Musieh (Heidelberg), 1:34

Cody Lovejoy (ONU) pinned Nino Majoy (Heidelberg), :49

Cody Lovejoy finishes 3rd           

Brett Martin (Muskegon CC) pinned Greg Biben (ONU), 4:20

Shawn Chamberlin (Muskegon CC) won by forfeit over Greg Biben (ONU)