No. 17 Men's Wrestling finishes seventh at Midwest Classic

No. 17 Men's Wrestling finishes seventh at Midwest Classic

By: Andrew Korba

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The No. 17 Ohio Northern men's wrestling team had five wrestlers place in the top eight, as the Polar Bears finished seventh of 26 teams at the Midwest Classic hosted by the University of Indianapolis.

ONU finished with 72.5 points.

Newberry (S.C.) won the tournament with 159.5 points, Upper Iowa finished second with 118 points and Findlay was third with 110.

The Polar Bears were the finish was the best out of any Division III school in the tournament.

Senior Kyle Kwiat led ONU, notching a second place finish at 174 pounds.

Kwiat suffered his first defeat of the season in the finals, by a 3-2 decision to the top-ranked wrestler in Division II Mike Williams of UNC-Pembroke.

Junior Jerry Pasquale posted a fourth place finish at 125 pounds, going 4-2 on the weekend.

Junior Michael Pawlitz registered two pins on his way to a fifth place finish at 197 pounds.

At 285 pounds, sophomore Cody Lovejoy brought home a sixth place finish.

Freshman Tyler Gargano picked up three tough victories on his way to a eighth place finish in the 165 pound weight class.

Also picking up wins on the weekend were senior Jeremy Jones at 133 pounds, sophomore Kyle Brezovec in the 149 pound weight class and freshman Max Brooke at 157.

Ohio Northern will be in action again on January 5 when they travel to Virginia for a dual with Washington & Lee.

Midwest Classic Final Standings

1. Newberry (S.C.) 159.5, 2. Upper Iowa 118, 3. Findlay 110, 4. Campbellsville (Ky.) 84.5, 5. Ashland 81, 6. UNC-Pembroke 73, 7. Ohio Northern 72.5, 8. Maryville (Mo.) 63, 9. Northern State (S.D.), 10. McKendree (Ill.) 56.5, 11. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) 55.5, 12. Lake Erie 53.5, 13. Western State (Colo.) 47, 14. Indiana Tech 45.5, 15. Indianapolis 43.5, 16. Central Missouri 40, 17. West Libert (W. Va.) 34.5, 18. Tiffin 31, 19. Limestone (S.C.) 29.5, 20. Trine (Ind.) 14, 21. Mount St. Joseph 13.5, 22. Brewton-Parker (Ga.) 12, 23. Ohio Valley 9.5, 24. Shorter (Ga.) 7.5, 25. Manchester (Ind.) 5, 26. Lincoln (Ill.) 4.5

Ohio Northern Individual Results


Jerry Pasquale (ONU) maj. dec. Stephen Pastor (Tiffin), 13-4

Jeff Vesta (Newberry) pinned Jerry Pasquale (ONU), 1:47

Jerry Pasquale (ONU) dec. Felix Casa del Cal (Lindsey Wilson), 15-9

Jerry Pasquale (ONU) dec. Stephen Pastor (Tiffin), 10-3

Jerry Pasquale (ONU) def. Max Byrd (Ashland), MFF

Ben Sergent (Findlay) pinned Jerry Pasquale (ONU), 1:27

Jerry Pasquale finished 4th


C.J. York (Western State) dec. Jeremy Jones (ONU), 7-4

Jeremy Jones (ONU) pinned Kalib Jackson (Manchester), 4:37

Jeremy Jones (ONU) dec. Hunter Neigbhors (Central Missouri), 2-0

Trevor Franklin (Upper Iowa) maj. dec. Jeremy Jones (ONU), 14-0


Daniel Owenbey (UNC-Pembroke) pinned Cody Harting (ONU), 4:36

Ian Muirhead (Northern State) tech. fall Cody Harting (ONU), 16-0


Paul Viterisi (Central Missouri) maj. dec. Kyle Brezovec (ONU), 10-2

Kyle Brezovec (ONU) dec. Marco Gualtieri (Tiffin), 8-4

Cody Cole (Western State) dec. Kyle Brezovec (ONU), 11-7


Maxwell Brooke (ONU) tech. fall T.J. Duncan (Shorter), 15-0

Bryce Givens (Indianapolis) maj. dec. Maxwell Brooke (ONU), 8-0

Neil Sell (Northern State) pinned Maxwell Brooke (ONU), 5:53


Nicolas Haferkamp (McKendree) dec. Tyler Gargano (ONU), 10-4

Tyler Gargano (ONU) dec. Joe Whalen (Campbellsville), 4-1

Tyler Gargano (ONU) dec. Tyler Loethan (Central Missouri), 7-5

Blake Ridenour (Newberry) maj. dec. Tyler Gargano (ONU), 12-2

Cadyn McKeeth (Lindsey Wilson) dec. Tyler Gargano (ONU), 14-9

Tyler Gargano finished 8th


Kyle Kwiat (ONU) tech. fall Jared Rector (Shorter), 17-0

Kyle Kwiat (ONU) tech. fall Nick Burghardt (Maryville), 17-2

Kyle Kwiat (ONU) pinned Jake Cramer (Tiffin), 2:08

Kyle Kwiat (ONU) dec. Elliot Copeland (Western State), 11-6

Mike Williams (UNC-Pembroke) dec. Kyle Kwiat (ONU), 3-2

Kyle Kwiat finished 2nd


Michael Pawlitz (ONU) maj. dec. Mackenzi Green (Tiffin), 9-0

Michael Pawlitz (ONU) pinned Jacob Bradford (Lindsey Wilson), 0:50

Matthew Baker (Maryville) dec. Michael Pawlitz (ONU), 6-0

Joe Brandt (Ashland) pinned Michael Pawlitz (ONU), 5:00

Michael Pawlitz (ONU) pinned Joe Grisko (Newberry), 2:03

Michael Pawlitz finished 5th


Cody Lovejoy (ONU) dec. Zotaih Tuaquoi (Central Missouri), 5-0

Matthew Meuleners (Northern State) maj. dec. Cody Lovejoy (ONU), 14-3

Cody Lovejoy (ONU) maj. dec. Sean Brooks (Mt. St. Joseph), 12-1

Cody Lovejoy (ONU) dec. Zotaih Tuaquoi (Central Missouri), 10-6

Ross Janney (McKendree) dec. Cody Lovejoy (ONU), 8-2

Mike Carpenter (West Liberty) pinned Cody Lovejoy (ONU), 4:47

Cody Lovejoy finished 6th