Mount Union captures seventh consecutive OAC Indoor Track & Field Championship

Mount Union captures seventh consecutive OAC Indoor Track & Field Championship

By Blake Moore

ADA — The No. 4-ranked Mount Union men's track and field program claimed its seventh successive Ohio Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field Championship title Saturday afternoon, topping the ten-team field in the two-day event with 180 points inside the ONU Sports Center Fieldhouse.

With their victory, the Purple Raiders have now won 38 indoor track and field conference titles in their program's history.

Mount Union fought off a late day-two rally from Otterbein, who placed second with 166 points behind the power of three event titles on Saturday. John Carroll rounded out the top-three after ending the weekend with 151 points.

The Purple Raiders claimed eight event titles over the two-day championship meet, including the 4x200- and 4x400-meter relays. The 4x200 squad clocked a 1:30.01 to capture the relay title while the 4x400 quartet dashed to a 3:26.69 effort and ensured the victory in the weekend's final event. 

Louis Berry wowed fans in attendance with an impressive 6.85 effort in the 60-meter dash, breaking the OAC meet record and the ONU Sports Center Fieldhouse facility record.

Meanwhile, James Roth also reset the OAC record books, establishing a new OAC record with a :48.46 clocking. For his weekend efforts, Roth was named the Most Outstanding Sprinter/Hurdler for the championship meet.

Additionally, Jacob Shedd, Connor Troyer, and A.J. Digby each won event titles in the triple jump (13.99 meters), 60-meter hurdles (8.15), and 500 (1:06.27) throughout the meet.

Crwinn Febus, Chase Hampton, and Trevor Dilley supplied the three Otterbein event victories that nearly put the Cardinals on top. Febus won the 200 dash in :22.33. Meanwhile, Hampton and Dilley swept the 800- and 1,000-meter mid-distance events in 1:57.86 and 2:35.30, respectively.

John Carroll senior Kyle Monahan was tabbed the OAC's Most Outstanding Distance Runner after finishing off an impressive weekend that included two championship titles and three top-five finishes. The long-distance specialist won his second event Saturday afternoon in the mile run with a 4:19.32 mark after winning the 5,000 on Friday night. He also placed fourth in the 3,000 run to conclude the weekend.

Ohio Northern senior Ian McVey battled back for an impressive 10-second victory in the 3,000-meter run on Saturday after attempting the double with the 5,000 run on Friday. He would post a winning time of 8:33.94 to best the 24-person field.

Heidelberg claimed the remaining title as Wes Fritz won the high jump with a 2.01-meter clearance.

John Carroll's Hayden Snow was named the Most Outstanding Field Athlete in the meet after breaking the OAC record in the long jump Friday.

Meanwhile, the Mount Union coaching staff was honored as the OAC's Coaching Staff of the Year following the meet's conclusion.

Final Team Standings:

1. Mount Union 180, 2. Otterbein 166, 3. John Carroll 151, 4. Ohio Northern 91.5, 5. Heidelberg 43, 6. Baldwin Wallace 38, T7. Marietta 23, T7. Capital 23, 9. Wilmington 12, 10. Muskingum 11.5