No. 6 Mount Union captures OAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Championship

By: Andrew Korba

ADA -- The No. 6 Mount Union men's indoor track & field team captured the OAC Indoor Track & Field Championship on Saturday afternoon.

The Purple Raiders finished first with 192.33 points, John Carroll was second with 111 points and Marietta was third with 106 points.

In addition, the Mount Union coaching staff was named Staff of the Year, Tyler Mettille was named Sprinter of the YEar and Sam Lugood was named Field Athlete of the Year.

Marietta's Caleb Muller captured Sprinter of Year.

Sean Donnelly of Mount Union captured his second event of the weekend, winning the shotput with a throw of 17.00 meters.

Heidelberg's Nate Davis was victorious in the long jump, clearing 2.09 meters, while Ludgood captured his second title of the weekend, posting an OAC record jump of 15.28 meters in the triple jump.

Muller won the 1-mile run in 4:20.19 and the 5,000 run in 15:17.66. He captured three individual titles on the weekend.

Mount Union captured the 4x200 Muskingum claimed the 4x400 relay.

Dustin Matak of Mount Union won the 60 dash in an OAC record 6.93 seconds and Ryan Lopez-Jordan of Marietta won the 60 hurdles with a time of 8.22 seconds.

Mettille was victorious in the 400 dash, posting a time of 49.43 seconds. He also won the 200 dash, setting an OAC record in 22.35.

Mount Union's Tyler Sparks claimed the title in the 500 with a time of 1:06.42.

Scott Whisler of Mount union captured the 800 run in 1:56.71 and Andrew Mantell of Otterbein won the 1,000 run in 2:32.09.

Final Team Standings

1. Mount Union 192.33, 2. John Carroll 111, 3. Marietta 106, 4. Otterbein 93, 5. Ohio Northern 79, 6. Wilmington 48, 7. Muskingum 40.66, 8. Heidelberg 36, 9. Capital 34.